blacktwitterlogo

The Unabashed Racist Sexism of Twitter

Twitter has locked me out of my account today because of this tweet:

img_1597

They say it violates their rules and I have to delete it before they’ll reinstate me but I’m not going to do that. I’m not going to delete it because Twitter allows these people even after they make personal threats against me:

img_1486

I get emails informing me that personal threats to find/kill/rape me and racist/sexist bullying doesn’t violate anything to their mind so I’m not going to play this game where they want me to submit despite the many levels of hell I’ve endured.

img_1571

Twitter is a platform for entitled white men. They’ve used it to racially sexually harass me ever since I first joined. I stopped expecting their outrage on my behalf a long time ago, what I am perplexed by on this occasion is the insistence that I can make it all go away if I just delete what I said, to take it back, to erase it. No, I will not. That tweet was in response to a white male who wanted to take pictures of my ‘pretty Arab feet’ from which I might make more money than my ‘crappy self named blog’ who’d referred to me as a cunt and a whore and other racially motivated slurs yet managed to retain his account.

I had threatened to raise hell if Twitter took issue with my use of the phrase ‘kill all men’ as it did when it blocked a woman of colour for using it recently so Twitter chose to make an example over a different sentiment.

killallmengrabpussy

I don’t want to use a platform that is so blatantly skewed towards entitled white men. Like fuck them. I do however want to hit them where it hurts. Solidarity can be costly, it can keep us from doing all the things we so enjoy, in support of our principles, but it’s one of the only good things we have right now. I urge you to log out, if not for me then yourself, because this medium is a means of white supremacist control. It was an ordeal ridding myself of my FB account some months ago now but it was the best decision I ever made, standing up to an enabler of racist/sexist abuse. They justify their behaviour because of our continued reliance on their services despite the ways in which they use and sell us out.

As @qqasim89 says in his letter to Twitter “Banning a few prominent “alt-right” users is simply not good enough because you are now doing half the job for them by banning the active resistance. Please reinstate @SamAmbreen_ and make it clear that defending yourself is not a crime” because if they do not do this and I comply with their unreasonable request they have disempowered me and reinforced the message that entitled white males are free to do as they wish with the rest of us and there isn’t a thing we can do about it. Is this our reality now?

(If we normally keep in touch via Twitter, leave me a message in the comments below instead, I will be here for the foreseeable)

11 comments

  1. Ah shit, Sam. So sorry to see all this bullshit. I’ve only just started checking Twitter again and seeing your posts was like seeing an old friend again (even though we’ve never met and you literally have no idea who I am). Seemed familiar and felt like picking up where we’d left off.

    Really hope you have the energy to keep writing and maintain an online presence – for your sake as well as for those of us who read your posts.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hiya Sam,

    You are clearly right, and Twitter are patently oblivious to reason. Twitter by their action/inaction are effectively endorsing a policy of encouraging racism and threats of violence.

    Stay strong, and appeal. The justness of your case is inarguable.

    (@neilburgh)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I only read twitter and never tweet, to avoid the negative attacks etc. It bums me out sometimes because I feel like I’m missing half of the ‘experience’ that IS twitter, but articles like this make me think maybe (probably!) not. Anyway, thanks for writing it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

