sbs

Calling all well-meaning white feminists

You may have noticed the recent surge in racist fascist behaviour, both on our streets and in our government (I say may cos you don’t seem to talk about it much) and wondered what you can do to help your non-white sisters, seeing as they are more often than not targeted by those boneheaded thugs cos of the whole patriarchal power and control dynamic thing. I know how much it bothers you when the government cuts funding to crucial services for women or forces women into taking less well paid and infrequent work owing to public sector redundancies and I commend your struggle to ensure we don’t turn the clocks back to Victorian times. I know I got a little snarky about Jane Austen but I sort of got the intention behind it and would have been a little more charitable if you at least tried to understand my perspective.

You see, I’ve been a feminist ever since I discovered the word that described my feelings about the state of the world. I embraced the principles because in my naivety I believed it fought for all women. I believed this until not very long ago where I was forced to acknowledge the differences in what we were trying to achieve. Of course the first thing I noticed was the language and manner in which our trans* sisters were rejected and ridiculed. It sounded deeply patriarchal and problematic to me. It surprises me that I hadn’t even considered the ways in which WoC are often sold down the river, maybe there was an unhealthy denial there but I had to confront it when women I had considered friends were suddenly behaving like privileged white men. It’s a good thing I did because I suddenly became aware of how white centric all the campaigns were and how WoC were pitied not supported in their struggles.

Maybe I got it wrong. Maybe there are some of you who genuinely want to help ALL women but just don’t know how without coming across as a white saviour with a better plan of action. Maybe you want to help but just don’t know where to begin. I will tell you, make it really simple so that you don’t have to worry about offending anyone.

  • Turn up wherever women need for you to be
  • Bring your shouting voice
  • Listen to the people organising the event and trust they know what they’re doing

That’s really all there is to it. Bearing this in mind, I am SURE you will want to support this worthy feminist cause. Southall Black Sisters are having a demonstration against the racist UKBA at their Hounslow office. Not content with bullying and harassing people of colour for no other reason than the colour of their skin regardless of immigration status, the UKBA has been running a campaign bearing the slogan ‘go home’. These words have been used to racially abuse many of us; I first heard those words aged 6. Of course the UKBA can’t end that sentiment with Paki but that is what we all hear in our heads. They’re not just targeting overstayers/people with no legal right to remain, people with full British passports received texts from the border agency telling them to leave the country. Can’t you see why this is unacceptable?

If you believe equality is for all women then I don’t need to explain why you need to attend. If however, you don’t, and there are a lot more of you unwilling to even admit it then why the fuck would you even read this? Glutton much?

Join Southall Black Sisters on Thursday 24th October

Time: 10.30am-12.30

Address: Eaton House, 581 Staines Road, Hounslow, Middlesex TW4 5DL

See you there.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

