It is because I feel

Sam Ambreen:

A piece I wrote for @TheFementalists

Originally posted on The Fementalists:

Sam blogs at Left at the Lights and tweets at@SamAmbreen

[Content note: Discusses child abuse and racism]

It’s been a while since I locked my bedroom door. There really is no need with just the two of us in this big house but not so long ago, this didn’t matter.  When I was in the room, the door was always locked. I spent 23 hours of a day in this room, the window barely open to let in some fresh air. I knew my aunt was downstairs, running her business, pottering about and this gave me a little comfort, sometimes. Mostly though, I was in on the inside, counting as I inhaled, holding briefly, exhaling for a set amount of time. I spent most of this time trying to remember how to breathe.

View original 730 more words

4 comments

  1. the permanent internal shivering (from fear, not meds) combined with forgetting and remembering to breathe…the exhaustion this resulted in. SIGH. Hit the nail on the head with this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

